Innovation and Leadership Awards

America's Service Commission's Innovation and Leadership Awards recognize the outstanding accomplishments and leadership of state service commission staff, commissioners, and programs in uniting states in service. Award nominations are open in late spring/early summer with the award being announced at the Annual Reception & Awards in September.

We also recognize state and local leaders who are active champions for national service and volunteerism in their states and communities through our State Service Leadership Awards and Friend of ASC Awards.

Visit our event page.

Past Award Winners:


Outstanding Commissioner
Paul Calistro (Delaware)

Outstanding Commission Executive Director
Renee Bade, Serve Idaho (Idaho)

Outstanding Commission Staff
Jaclyn Kolar, OneStar Foundation (Texas)

Sarah Sadowski, ServeMontana (Montana)

Outstanding Service Program

United Way of King County AmeriCorps (Washington)

Outstanding Service Program Staff

Gail Klearman, Iowa Legal Aid AmeriCorps (Iowa)

ASC Honor Roll

Stacy Higa (Hawai'i)

Bill Hulterstrom (Utah)


Outstanding Commissioner
Mary Grace Landrum (Texas)

Outstanding Commission Executive Director
LaDawn Stoddard, UServeUtah

Outstanding Commission Staff

Stacey Scherschligt, ServeMinnesota

Outstanding Service Program

Metropolitan Ministries, Tampa, FL

Outstanding Service Program Staff

Bridget Talebi, Washington Conservation Corps

ASC Honor Roll

Bob Shogren, Arizona


Outstanding Commissioner
Kate Kelly, ServeMinnesota

Outstanding Commission Executive Director
Scott McFarland, Serve Illinois

Outstanding Commission Staff
Caitlin Brooking, Volunteer Mississippi

Ia Moua, California Volunteers

Outstanding Service Program

YWCA of Central Alabama AmeriCorps, Birmingham, AL

ASC Honor Roll
Elizabeth Darling, Texas

Debbie Schuffenhauer, Washington


In 2017, in honor of ASC's 20th Anniversary, we presented 20 individuals with special 'ASC 20' Awards in lieu of the traditional Innovation & Leadership Awards.

View the 'ASC 20' Awardees here.


Outstanding Commissioner
John Albright, Missouri Community Service Commission

Carolyn Bloodworth, Michigan Community Service Commission

Outstanding Commission Staff
Emily Steinberg, OneStar Foundation (Texas)

Outstanding Service Program
AmeriCorps Urban Safety Corps, Detroit, MI

ASC Honor Roll (Inaugural Year)
William Basl, Washington
Thomas Devine, Wisconsin
Wendy Spencer, Florida


Outstanding Commissioner
Autumn Karlinsky, Volunteer Florida

Outstanding Commission Executive Director
Thomas Devine, Serve Wisconsin

Outstanding Commission Staff

Beth McGuinness, Massachusetts Service Alliance

Outstanding Service Program
Washington Service Corps, Olympia, WA


Outstanding Commissioner
Lawrence Neil Bailis, Massachusetts Service Alliance

Nicole Trimble, Serve Washington

Outstanding Commission Executive Director
Shelly McAlpin, Serve Wyoming

Outstanding Commission Staff
Elisa Gleeson, OneStar Foundation (Texas)

Jeanine Yard, Michigan Community Service Commission

Outstanding Service Program
Colorado HIPPYCorps, Denver, CO


Outstanding Commissioner
Rob Collier, Michigan Community Service Commission
​Tom Katus, South Dakota Nonprofit Association

Outstanding Commission Executive Director
Audrey Suker, ServeMinnesota

Outstanding Commission Staff
Kristin Honz, Volunteer Iowa

Outstanding Service Program
Washington Conservation Corps, Olympia, WA


Friend of ASC Award

The Friend of ASC Award is given annually at the ASC Innovation & Leadership Awards Reception. These individuals are selected by the ASC Board of Directors for their outstanding contributions as a national champion and advocate in the field of national and community service and for their support of of the work of state service commissions.

2019: U.S. Representative Rosa DeLauro (CT) and U.S. Representative Tom Cole (OK)
2018: U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (MO)
2016: U.S. Senator Thad Cochran (MS)
2015: U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski (MD)
U.S. Senator Harris Wofford (PA)
U.S. Senator Tom Harkin (IA)
AnnMaura Connolly, Voices for National Service
Michelle Nunn, Points of Light
Shirley Sagawa
Alan Khazei
Lt. Governor Diane Denish (NM)
Rosie Mauk
Eli Segal
Debra Hartmann

Robert Goodwin

State Service Leadership Award

Each year, America’s Service Commissions recognizes a state or local leader at the ASC Innovation & Leadership Awards Reception for championing the role of national service and volunteering in their communities. This award recognizes leaders who understand how service is a unique strategy to meet pressing community needs.

Past award recipients:
2019: Governor Larry Hogan (Maryland)
2018: Governor John Hickenlooper (Colorado)

2016: Governor Jay Inslee (Washington)
2015: Governor Terry Branstad (Iowa)
2014: Senator Orrin Hatch (Utah)
2013: Mayor Vincent Gray (District of Columbia)
2012: Lt. Governor Jay Dardenne (Louisiana)